Global Sports : Hodgson: Rooney Did Not Dive

posted in: News | 0

Roy Hodgson insists Wayne Rooney did not dive to earn his side a penalty during Manchester United’s FA Cup victory at Preston.
TV replays showed there was no contact as Rooney avoided the challenge of Preston goalkeeper Thorston Stuckmann in the 87th minute of their 3-1 fifth-round win at Deepdale.
The England captain converted the resulting spot-kick to end the scoring and his national manager believes the game was running too quickly for anyone, including the referee, to see such a fine margin.
“It’s not a dive for me, I think Rooney was just taking evasive action there,” he said.
“If you’re refereeing the game in the run of play, without all the replays we’ve now seen, I don’t think anybody would have said that’s not a penalty.
“The goalkeeper’s come out very rashly, gone in with both feet, and Wayne’s touched the ball past him.”
Hodgson was watching the game ahead of next month’s European Championship qualifier against Lithuania and friendly with Italy, the squad for which he will announce on March 19.
And the 67-year-old confirmed Tottenham striker Harry Kane will be part of the group after his outstanding performances this season.
Speaking on the BBC, Hodgson said: “I think Kane is very much an all-round centre-forward. He can play right up against the defender but can also drop short and see a pass, and in particular he’s always looking to get on the end of crosses.
“He’s got the technique to put the ball in the back of the net and that header in particular against Arsenal was a wonderful goal.
“If all goes well and he stays fit I’m pretty sure he will be in the next squad. I’m very encouraged by all the young strikers coming through. Charlie Austin’s done very well and I admire them all.”

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *