Speaker: Gbajabiamila wins APC primaries as Monguno emerges deputy – Vanguard News

posted in: News | 0

After long hours of voting, the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila won the mandate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) members-elect to be the next Speaker.
Gbajabiamila defeated Hon. Yakubu Dogara, who staged a walk-out with 18 members-elect.
According to the National Secretary of APC, Mallam Mai Mala Buni, said out of the 209 APC members-elect, 183 signed the attendance register, while 161 others voted at the straw poll, with about 22 others either abstaining or staging a walk-out.
Out of the 161 votes, Gbajabiamila garnered 154 votes, Dogara got 3 and 4 votes were invalid.
Meanwhile, Tahir Monguno scored 153 votes to emerge the sole candidate of the party for the position of Deputy Speaker.

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *