INEC rejects seven gov candidates

posted in: News | 0

The Independent National Electoral Commission has rejected the governorship candidates of seven parties.

The parties and the states affected according to the commission, are the Peoples Party of Nigeria in Delta State; Labour Party in Niger State; the New Nigeria Peoples Party in Ogun State; and the Unity Party of Nigeria in Oyo State.

Others are the United Democratic Party in Rivers State; and the Peoples Democratic Movement in Sokoto and Zamfara states.

No reason was given by the commission for the action, which was made known via its bulletin. The commission did not also give the names of the affected candidates.

In a decision extract issued and signed by the Director (Commission’s Secretariat), Mr. Ishiaku Gali, INEC also approved that the only candidate for the House of Representatives in Ado/Opoku/Ogbadibo Federal Constituency of Benue State, be declared elected on the day of the election by the Returning Officer.

INEC hinged its decision on the provision of Section 41 (1) of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) which provides that, “If after the expiration of time for delivering of nomination papers, withdrawal of candidates and the extension of time as provided for in this Act there is only one person whose name is validly nominated in respect of an election, other than to the office of the President or Governor, that person shall be declared elected.”

Consequently, the candidate, Mr. Christian Abah, of the Peoples Democratic Party, being the only contestant in the constituency has been declared the winner without election.

Aged 50, Abah has a General Certificate of Education after attending a college of education.

Written For

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter

Leave a Reply