Football: MLS reveal All-Star side

posted in: News | 0

English duo Jermain Defoe and Bradley Wright-Phillips, Australian Tim Cahill and Republic of Ireland’s Robbie Keane were among those named in the Major League Soccer All-Stars who will play Bayern Munich.

The league announced a 23-player roster that will be drawn upon when the elite MLS line-up faces the reigning Bundesliga champions and 2013 UEFA Champions League winners on 6 August at Portland, Oregon. Wright-Phillips, a striker for the New York Red Bulls, leads MLS with 16 goals in 18 matches while Defoe has 11 goals for Toronto FC in his first MLS season after leaving Tottenham Hotspur.

Cahill, a Red Bulls midfielder, netted two 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™ goals last month for the Socceroos while Keane, the Irish captain and all-time scoring leader with 53 goals, has 43 goals in three MLS seasons for the Los Angeles Galaxy. France boasts two MLS all-Stars in Red Bulls forward Thierry Henry and 2012 MLS Defender of the Year Aurelien Collin for reigning MLS champion Sporting Kansas City.

Other internationals selected include Cuban midfielder Osvaldo Alonso and Nigerian forward Obafemi Martins of Seattle Sounders, Canadian midfielder Will Johnson and Argentine midfielder Diego Valeri of Portland Timbers and Mexican forward Erick Torres of Chivas USA.

Clint Dempsey of Seattle and Landon Donovan of the Galaxy lead the Americans in the MLS lineup, which also includes fellow USA internationals midfielder Michael Bradley of Toronto, Galaxy defender Omar Gonzalez, Seattle defender DeAndre Yedlin, Sporting Kansas City midfielder Graham Zusi and Real Salt Lake midfielder Kyle Beckerman.

MLS All-Star squad:

Goalkeepers:Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Bill Hamid (D.C. United)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders: Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle Sounders FC), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Clint Dempsey(Seattle Sounders FC), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC), Erick Torres (Chivas USA), Bradley Wright-Phillips (New York Red Bulls)

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter

Leave a Reply