‘Dubious’ penalty : Hand the trophy to Brazil now- Croatia’s Lovren

posted in: News | 1

The Croatia defender was less than impressed by the performance of the Japanese official and suggested the hosts should be handed the trophy now
Croatia defender Dejan Lovren described referee Yuichi Nishimura’s performance in Thursday’s World Cup defeat to hosts Brazil as a “scandal” and claimed the European side were competing against “12 men” in Sao Paulo.
Nishimura caused controversy with a string of questionable decisions, culminating in the awarding of a highly dubious penalty – given against Lovren for an alleged foul on Fred  – from which Neymar put Brazil 2-1 up.
Neymar was lucky to escape a red card for an elbow on Luka Modric shortly before the Barcelona star equalised while Croatia also had a goal from Ivan Perisic chalked off for what the Japanese official deemed to be a foul on home goalkeeper Julio Cesar by Ivica Olic.
Although the final score read 3-1 to Brazil – Oscar grabbing a late third for the tournament favourites – Croatia, and Lovren in particular, were left feeling hard done by.
The Southampton defender told L’Equipe: “I’m so sad I want to cry. Everyone has seen it, it’s a scandal for Fifa.
“We talk about respect – the Fifa people spoke to us about it – and what happens? It is better the cup is given immediately to Brazil.”
Asked if Croatia would have beaten Brazil had it not been for the spot-kick, Lovren added: “I think we played a good game and had the quality to compete with Brazil but not against 12 men.
“We looked at the pictures in the dressing room and everyone is still asking questions.”
Former World Cup referee Urs Meier was clear in his opinion that Nishimura should not have been handed such a huge assignment when speaking on ZDF after the game.
“Mistakes like this do not happen with referees that are used to refereeing in matches like this. When you are involved in Champions League matches on a regular basis, you can evaluate situations like this better,” Meier claimed.
“There was only little contact. The referee also had a bad angle and he did not even try to get a better angle. Therefore should never have whistled [for the penalty]. If anything, he should have given Fred a yellow card for diving.”
Brazil coach, Felipe Scolari claimed he saw nothing wrong with referee Yuichi Nishimura’s decision to point to the spot.
“The ref saw a penalty. He gave the penalty, and he’s the one who decides,” the 65-year-old told reporters after the game.
“And we think it was a penalty as well.
“I understand what my colleague has said, and I respect it, because I think the reason he said was due to the result, and I would probably be complaining if I had lost the match as well. But I didn’t see us getting favoured by the referee. That’s just something that has been said and it will stay said and there’s no point in arguing about it.”

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter

One Response

  1. The referee was a little bit stressed yesterday. Eheheheheh!

Leave a Reply