2015 ELECTION: INEC Releases List Of Ten Presidential Candidates

posted in: News | 0

2015 Elections: INEC releases List of Presidential Candidates

By Olaotan Fawehinmi
Sun Dec 28 2014

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Saturday released the list of the presidential candidates to run in the 2015 elections.

They are:
President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP),

General Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC),

Prof. Comfort Oluremi Sonaiya of Kowa Party,

Ambrose Albert of Hope Democratic Party,

Ganiyu Galadima of Allied Congress Party of Nigeria,

Rafiu Salau of Alliance for Democracy,

Godson Okoye of United Democratic Party,

Dr. Nani Ibrahim Ahmad of African Democratic Congress,

Martin Onovo of National Conscience Party,

Tunde Anifowoshe-Kelani of Action Alliance, and

Chekwas Okorie of United Progressive Party.

Their corresponding running mates are:

The Incumbent Vice-President, Namadi Sambo (PDP),
Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (APC),
Saidu Bobboi (Kowa Party)
Haruna Shaba (Hope Democratic Party),
Balarabe Ahmed (ACPN),
Prof. Clinton Cliff Akuchie (AD),
Haruna Adamu (United Democratic Party),
Obianuju Murphy-Uzohue (African Democratic Congress
Ibrahim Mohammed(NCP),
Comrade Paul Ishaka Ofomile (Action Alliance), and
Bello Umar( United Progressive Party).

INEC’s deadline for the submission of names was December 25 and the commision provided this list in line with the provisions of the Electoral Act; saying the grounds for qualification are as specified in Sections 65′ 106, 131 and 177 of the 1999 Constitution.

The Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman, Mr. Kayode Robert Idowu, said: “We have complied with the law; we have published the list of all the presidential candidates in all the states of the Federation. For other elective offices, the lists will be published in their constituencies and senatorial districts as applicable.”

The electoral agency said Nigerians are free to screen the particulars and raise issues if they think any candidate should be disqualified.

INEC said: “The personal particulars are displayed in all the state and local government offices of the commission in the constituencies of the candidates.

“Any person who has reasonable grounds to believe that any information given by any candidate is false or that the candidate is not qualified or is disqualified from contesting the elections should notify the commission in writing within seven days of this publication.”

Eleven conditions under which any of the presidential candidates or other candidates can be disqualified are:

”While a person is disqualified if he or she
(i) has declared allegiance to another country;

(ii) has been elected to the office of President or Governor at any two previous elections;

(iii) adjudged to be a lunatic or declared to be of unsound mind;

(iv) is under a sentence of death or is under a sentence of imprisonment or fine for an offence involving dishonesty or fraud

(v) has in the last 10 years been convicted and sentenced for an offence involving dishonesty

(vi) has been found guilty of a contravention of the code of conduct;

(vii) is an undischarged bankrupt;

(viii) is employed in the public service and does not resign, withdraw or retire at least 30 days to the election;

(ix) is a member of a secret society;

(x) has been indicted for embezzlement or fraud by a Judicial Committee of Inquiry or an Administrative Panel of Inquiry or a Tribunal and which indictment has been accepted by the Federal or State Government;

(xi) has presented a forged certificate to INEC”


Written For http://www.globalruns.com

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter

Leave a Reply